银河娱乐集团网站

关于我们

基金会项目

最新消息

媒体中心

关注基金会

总览

计划简介
协作机构
计划实施
协作机构心声
托儿所
托儿所家长心声
幼儿园
幼儿园家长心声
其他支持服务
计划简史及成果
相关影片
相关资料

分享到

基金会项目 >

银娱手语双语共融教育先导计划

计划简介

在澳门的现行教育制度下,听障儿童一般会被安排入读主流学校的「融合教室」。尽管澳门政府已为学校提供额外的财政资源以支持有关措施,但患有听力障碍的学童,即使他们已配戴助听器或人工耳蜗,仍可能因实际因素以致阻碍他们接收外界声音,从而令他们难以适应课堂学习和社交活动。有见及此,银河娱乐集团基金会希望为听障儿童引入一套更具系统性、多元化和有效的手语双语共融教育模式至主流学校的「融合教室」中。

协作机构

香港中文大学
手语及聋人研究中心
圣若瑟教区中学第五校
嘉模托儿所

cu-logo
CSLSD-logo
CDSJ-logo
carmo-logo

计划实施

银河娱乐集团基金会于2018年1月正式推行「银娱手语双语共融教育先导计划」,并委托香港中文大学的手语及聋人研究中心在澳门开展计划。该计划由托儿所开始推行,以满足听障儿童的需求,为他们提供早期的「双语」(手语和口语)教学,以增强他们的学前教育基础,以便可顺利升读至幼儿园开设的手语双语融合教室。在手语双语教室,聋人教学助理与健听老师互相配合进行协作教学,聋人助教更会使用手语尤其帮助听障学童更好地吸收知识。

先导计划于2018/2019学年开展,首届共招收了十名听障儿童,分别入读于澳门圣若瑟教区中学第五校的幼儿园部和嘉模托儿所(各五名)。于计划开展次年(2019/2020),共有十四名听障儿童参与,其中十名就读于幼儿园的幼儿班 (K1) 和幼低班 (K2) 的融合教室( 每班各五名),另四名就读于嘉模托儿所。在幼儿园里,融合教室的听障和健听学童一起上课,由一位健听教师和一名聋人教学助理同时以手语及口语授课;在托儿所,尽管有关课堂并非在正式的教室中进行,但同样都设有聋人教学助理在课室里协助教学。香港中文大学的团队亦密切监察计划的进展,并为有关教师和学校行政人员提供持续培训和建议。

计划希望透过手语双语共融教学,为听障学童建立稳固的语言基础,从而提高他们的整体读写和语言能力。此外,计划还期望健听学童亦能从中受益,因通过接触手语可促进学童早期的语言发展。同时,透过此学习环境更可培育他们对有特殊需要人士的同理心。

教师培训及学校支持

在计划实施前,参与幼儿园和托儿所的全体教师均接受了由香港中文大学手语及聋人研究中心教职人员所教授的手语培训。学习手语除了让教师能与听障学童进行交流外,手语培训还有助于增强教师对听障学童和聋人子女有关手语双语共融教育的知识和优化教学策略。

支持聋健老师协作教学

为了协助聋健老师互相配合,一同以手语及口语授课,香港中文大学的团队会定期探访学校,进行观课及课后检讨。专家团队还会与聋健老师分享一些在手语双语计划中的实际教学技巧,以及协助他们逐步建立这计划独有的聋健协作教学模式。除此以外,专家团队亦会帮助建立手语教学资源,并在发展视觉教材上提供专业意见。这类型的定期探访使学校能不断改善教学技巧及双语教室的学习氛围。

推动全校参与融合教育发展

不少研究均指出手语的好处,因其不仅可协助听障学童学习,还对有特殊需要的学童有帮助。故此,计划除了帮助听障学童外,也在整体教学和学童个别学习计划方面提供建议。透过手语双语教学策略,除了可提高健听学童的学习成果,还对有特殊需要学童的学习尤其具成效。专家团队会定期与学校检讨,为学校的未来手语双语共融教育发展提供专业意见,了解执行上遇到的困难并提供具体改善方案。

协作机构心声

「很多研究显示,听障儿童以手语作为语言基础是不会影响其口语发展。老师在课堂上授课时,即使听障学童戴了助听器或人工耳蜗,他们也可能吸收不到全部信息。从语言学角度发现,若同时有老师用手语将课堂上的讯息带出来,他们除了从听觉得到信息外,也可以透过手语获取课堂讯息,有助提高学习成效。」
邓慧兰(香港中文大学 手语及聋人研究中心教授)
18

托儿所

在托儿所实施手语双语教学,班主任和聋人教学助理定期为班级安排手语双语讲故事时间。当中,老师会和聋人教学助理同时使用口语和手语讲述故事。动作和道具对于模仿手语的主要词汇所要求的手势至关重要。

聋人教学助理还将定期(每周两次)为听障学童提供一对一的培训课程。为增强学生在认知、语言和情感等不同领域的能力,聋人教学助理会利用各种活动、游戏和教学工具作协助。而一对一的培训还可以帮助听障学童建立词汇量和理解手语的能力,让他们对升读到幼儿园做好准备。

托儿所还与香港中文大学合作,为家长提供由老师和聋人教学助理所主持的手语双语故事工作坊,使家长们能更好地体会和理解课堂上所实施的手语双语教学模式。除此之外,这些故事工作坊还邀请了他们的孩子一同参与并享受当中的乐趣。

为向听障儿童的父母推广先导计划,澳门社会工作局亦特意为托儿所的「手语双语共融教育计划」设立了转介服务机制。育有1-3岁听障儿童的父母或本身患有听力障碍的父母均可向社会工作局、儿童及青少年服务处、受社会工作局资助的听障人士服务机构或早疗服务机构提出申请,将其子女转介至有关的托儿所。更多的信息可于此网页查询:https://www.childcare.ias.gov.mo/referral-2?token=2XsvIQqc74ikw5lsyRwzrg==&lgType=zh-mo

托儿所家长心声

尽管先导计划仍处于实施的早期阶段,但托儿所采用的手语双语教学模式已使幼儿的父母意识到此计划对其子女的沟通能力和学习动机等不同发展方面均产生了正面的影响:

听障儿童家长
「当初我选择嘉模托儿所,是因为他们跟香港中文大学手语及聋人研究中心合作「手语双语共融教育计划」。我们知道手语跟口语配合,可以激发孩子的左右脑发展,所以我们选择这间托儿所。儿子的班里,有五位同学是听障儿童,其他同学都是健听的,可以让他知道,世界上不只他们一班听障儿童,也有健听小朋友。虽然他有佩戴助听器,但他跟其他同学是一样的,一起玩耍,一起学习,一起生活。我觉得这种羣体生活,可以让他更好地适应这个社会和学懂独立。」
12
健听学童家长
「我的小朋友很喜欢学手语。虽然她接触手语的时间只有一年左右,但是她回家后会告诉我学了什么。而早上起床,就会用手语说早晨。想食苹果时会做手语,在街上看见鸟儿也会做鸟儿吱吱叫的手语;这会令她的思维发展更好,动作跟口语可以融合一起。」
12

幼儿园

手语双语融合教室的主要教学模式,是由健听老师和聋人教学助理共同进行课程规划并执行班级教学。在幼儿园的融合教室中,由三名工作人员负责,分别为两名健听老师和一名聋人教学助理。

课前准备工作也同样至关重要,因此两位教师亦需比平日花更多的时间备课,以确保他们不仅熟悉教学内容,且能携手通过口语和手语有效地教授课程内容。通过这种教学模式,听障学童和班上其他健听学童均可从上课过程中同时接受口语和手语授课,从而使他们能有效地学习,互动和交流。

「手语双语共融教育计划」通过提供手语教学和视觉学习教材,为教室建立一个既定体系,以照顾听障学童的需要。对于整个学校而言,为促进具包容性的学习环境以容纳听障学童,学校行政人员需要迎合有关因素,并作出相应调整,其中包括特殊考试安排和听障学童的助听器等补助设施,并鼓励未曾在融合教室授课的教师一同学习手语,以便随时与校内的听障学童进行良好的沟通。此外,香港中文大学也通过专用的网站向参与计划的听障学童提供特殊资源。

为了提倡和促进幼儿园的共融环境,学校活动中还加插了手语双语的元素。在早会时,融合班的听障学童将带领幼儿园以手语传达歌词的意思,而在课外活动和其他校内活动中,学校将确保提供手语的翻译以支持听障学童的需求。此外,聋人教学助理还会在课后的「督课班」中,透过使用手语向听障学童提供有关家庭作业和复习上的协助。

幼儿园家长心声

听障儿童家长
「手语双语共融教育可以弥补老师用口语教学时,儿子错过或听不到的讯息,因他可透过手语吸收讯息。而其他健听的小朋友从小学习手语和心存同理心,社会上就不会有歧视眼光,大家都是平等的。」
12
健听学童家长
「女儿学习手语后,学习动机积极了。回家会教爸妈做手语,例如『早晨』或小朋友的名字等简单语句的手语,她会觉得很自豪。除了一般学科知识之外,她在手语上更能运用大脑,我认为对其脑部发育有大帮助。」
12
改变一生命运的「手语」

朗朗从出生第二天开始就被确诊为听障儿童,从那一刻让一家人感到十分彷徨无助……朗朗妈妈庆幸儿子开始学会手语,更参加了「银娱手语双语共融教育计划」,入读澳门嘉模托儿所融合教室;除了支援辅导他在日常生活上可以沟通外,在学习上也有显著的进步。现时朗朗已升读计划实施手语双语教学的圣若瑟教区第五校幼稚园继续其学业,速让朗朗踏上小生命的转捩点! 以下是朗朗妈妈的回馈信:

2020年10月14日 | PDF

一位听障儿童妈妈的感想:改变一生命运的「手语」

其他支持服务

为听障学童提供语言评估

中大团队定期为听障学童进行语言能力评估,纪录他们的语言发展,让老师及家长更清楚听障学童的语言能力,以调整教学及设计合适的训练。
计划推行至今,学校及家长的反应都十分正面及支持。幼儿园均有向新生家长介绍学校的「手语双语共融教育计划」的理念和原则,并收集他们对子女入读共融班的意愿。很高兴在过去两年间,在每年约一百五十名的新生家长中,有近八成家长愿意让子女入读共融班,显示家长对双语共融的概念及教学表示认同及支持。

为听障儿童家长提供专业意见及咨询服务

专家团队会定期约见听障儿童的家长,提供辅导及了解听障儿童各方面的发展进度,并为听障儿童的发展提供合适的建议。为了提升家长对手语双语的教学模式的了解,专家团队亦为家长举办了不同的工作坊,包括听力及语言训练工作坊和手语双语故事工作坊。

计划简史及成果

根据研究证据和聋人教育的需要,香港中文大学手语及聋人研究中心于2006年推出了一项创新的手语双语教育模式,融合并加强主流学校的共融教育理念。通过聋健老师的合作教学,健听和听障学童能够使用手语和口语来发展协作学习,从而实现真正的融合教育。聋健师生融合在手语双语的学习环境时,更可以增强其手语双语的发展和学习效率。

截至2019年,全亚洲共有六间托儿所、三所幼儿园、三所小学和一所中学已实施手语双语融合教育,分别分布于香港(2006年)、新加坡(2017年)、澳门(2018年)和中国内地衢州市(2018)。在2019/2020学年期间,全亚洲共有一百六十名听障学童接受手语双语融合教育。

于2020年,「手语双语共融教育计划」更获奥地利Essl Foundation颁发 Zero Project「创新教育实务奖」,旨关注全球残疾人的权利。
(https://zeroproject.org/practice/pra201501chn-factsheet/)

zero-project-award-winner-2020-logo

相关影片

「银娱手语双语共融教育先导计划」- 第一部分

自2018年,银河娱乐集团基金会分别于本澳一所幼儿园及一间托儿所开展「银娱手语双语共融教育先导计划」。计划旨在将听障儿童纳入由健听教师和聋人助教共同教学的融合教室中,使听障和健听学童都能够同时学习口语和手语。听障儿童通过手语双语共融学习,建立稳固的语言基础,从而提高他们的整体读写和语言能力。此外,健听儿童亦能从中受益,透过此学习环境以培育他们对有特殊需要的同学存有同理心及积极的社会态度。

「银娱手语双语共融教育先导计划」- 第二部分

为协助聋健老师互相配合,让课程同时以手语及口语授课,以建立「手语双语共融教育先导计划」独有的聋健协作教学模式,香港中文大学为有关教师提供手语培训课程,并定期到访有关学校以密切监察计划的进展,为教师和学校行政人员提供持续培训和专业意见。随着天主教澳门教区、教育暨青年局、社会工作局及劳工事务局参与计划,银河娱乐集团基金会期望计划成效最终可得到政府的充分认可和支持,使计划在本澳得以持续实施,让学童于整个学习生涯中受益。

相关资料

分享到

更多 基金会项目

银娱基金会项目
关注基金会
©2020银河娱乐集团基金会,保留所有权利。

Galaxy Entertainment Group Website

About Us

Foundation Initiatives

What's New

Multimedia

Follow Us

Overview

Scheme Background
Scheme Partners
Scheme Implementation
Feedback from Scheme Partners
Nursery
Feedback from Parents - Nursery
Kindergarten
Feedback from Parents – Kindergarten
Other Support Measures for Hearing-Impaired Students and their Parents
Scheme History and Awards
Related Videos
Related Information

Share to

Foundation Initiatives >

GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme

Scheme Background

Under the current education system in Macau, hearing-impaired students will generally be encouraged to attend mainstream schools in “inclusive” classrooms.  While the Macau Government provides additional financial resources for schools to support them, hearing-impaired students, depending on the severity of their deafness and in spite of having cochlear implants, may still face difficulty adjusting to class learning and to engage socially.  The Galaxy Entertainment Group Foundation hopes to introduce a more dynamic, systematic and effective sign bilingualism and co-enrolment education model for these inclusive classrooms at mainstream schools for hearing-impaired students.

Scheme Partners

The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Centre for Sign Language and Deaf Studies
Colégio Diocesano de São José (5ª) 
Infantário de Nossa Senhora do Carmo

cu-logo
CSLSD-logo
CDSJ-logo
carmo-logo

Scheme Implementation

In January 2018, the Foundation launched the “GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme” and commissioned the Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong to help establish a Pilot Scheme in Macau. The Pilot Scheme starts at the nursery level to cater for the needs of hearing-impaired children, providing them with an early introduction to “bilingual” – sign and spoken – language input to enhance their early childhood education process, and progressing onto kindergarten. The implementation of  “bilingual” language teaching in inclusive classrooms is defined as the hearing class teacher pairing up to co-teach in class with a teaching assistant, who is a deaf adult fluent in sign language and trained as a teaching assistant.

The Pilot Scheme was launched in the 2018-19 academic year, when ten hearing-impaired children were enrolled in the Pilot Scheme, 5 each at the kindergarten at Colégio Diocesano de São José 5, and the nursery "Infantario de Nossa Senhora do Carmo”. In its second academic year (2019/20), fourteen hearing-impaired children are enrolled in the Pilot Scheme, ten in the kindergarten (five children each in K1 and K2) and four in the nursery. In the kindergarten, one teacher and a deaf teaching assistant co-teach using both spoken and sign languages in the inclusive classrooms, and the deaf children attend class together with other hearing children. The same is done in the nursery with the support of a deaf teaching assistant, but in a less formal classroom setting. The Project Team from the Chinese University of Hong Kong closely monitors the Pilot Scheme’s progress and provides ongoing training and advice to teachers and school administrators.

The Pilot Scheme expects to help build a solid language foundation for hearing-impaired students through the simultaneous use of sign and spoken languages, enhancing their overall literacy and language abilities. Hearing children attending the classes are also expected to benefit from the practice, as their language development will be enhanced through exposure to sign language, while developing increased empathy for the less fortunate.

Teacher Training and School Support

Prior to implementation of the Pilot Scheme, all teachers from the participating kindergarten and nursery attended sign language training conducted by staff members from the Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong.  In addition to learning sign language to enable teachers to communicate with hearing-impaired children, the training helps to enhance teachers’ knowledge regarding sign bilingual education and teaching strategies for hearing-impaired children and children of deaf adults.

Teacher Support in a Co-Teaching Environment

In order to support deaf and hearing teachers to use sign and spoken language to co-teach, the Project Team at the Chinese University of Hong Kong visits the school and the nursery periodically to conduct class observation and after-class evaluation. The Project Team will also share practical teaching skills with the hearing teachers and the deaf teaching assistants to help them systematically establish the mode of bilingual co-teaching unique to the Scheme, assist in the development of sign language resources and provide professional advice on visual education materials. These visits from the Project Team allow the schools to continually improve their teaching skills and create a more conducive learning atmosphere in the bilingual classroom.

Promoting Whole School Participation & Developing Inclusive Education

Many studies have shown that sign language is beneficial and can be used to help students with special educational needs (“SEN”), in addition to those who are hearing-impaired. Apart from helping deaf and hearing-impaired students, the Scheme also provides advice on general teaching for SEN students, particularly those who are following individual education plans set up specifically for their learning. This is because sign and spoken bilingual input strategies can simultaneously enhance learning even in hearing students, and particularly those with special needs. The Project Team will periodically conduct reviews with the school and provide professional advice on the development of the sign bilingual co-teaching, and how to overcome any issues encountered in implementing the Pilot Scheme.

Feedback from Scheme Partners

“Research has shown that if we provide deaf people with a good foundation in sign language, their oral language learning will not be affected. More importantly, if there is a deaf teaching assistant teaching alongside the hearing teacher while she is speaking in class, hearing-impaired students, regardless of whether they have hearing aids or cochlear implants, are able to use the sign language channel to grasp the information that they may otherwise miss out on. From the linguistic point of view, hearing-impaired children can develop both oral and sign language at the same time, which is actually an advantage.”
Gladys Tang (Professor, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
18

Nursery

In a “bilingual” environment at the nursery, the class teacher, with her deaf teaching assistant, regularly organise bilingual storytime activities for the various classes.  Storytime is co-presented by the teacher and the deaf teaching assistant using spoken and sign language simultaneously.  Movements and props are crucial in facilitating imitation of the actions required in sign language for the key vocabularies used.

The deaf teaching assistant will also provide one-on-one training sessions to hearing-impaired students twice a week.  The deaf teaching assistant will make use of different activities, games, and educational tools to enhance the students’ abilities in different areas such as cognition, language, emotion, etc.  Individual training helps the hearing-impaired children to build up their vocabulary and understanding of sign language, in preparation for their transition to kindergarten. 

The nursery also collaborates with the Chinese University of Hong Kong to provide parents with workshops on bilingual story-telling, run by the teacher and the deaf teaching assistant, to enable them to experience and better understand the bilingual teaching mode that is used in class. Parents are invited to join their children to attend and enjoy these story-telling workshops together.

To promote the Pilot Scheme to parents of hearing-impaired children, the Social Welfare Bureau has set up a referral system for the sign bilingual programme at the nursery.  Parents with hearing-impaired children aged 1-3, or who are themselves hearing-impaired may apply for their child to be enrolled at the nursery through social welfare centres, child and youth service centres, agencies for hearing-impaired persons or those providing early intervention subsidised by the Social Welfare Bureau.  More information can be found at: https://www.childcare.ias.gov.mo/referral-2?token=2XsvIQqc74ikw5lsyRwzrg==&lgType=en

Feedback from Parents - Nursery

Even though the Pilot Scheme is still at its early stages of implementation, parents with children who are attending the nursery offering sign bilingualism are already seeing the positive benefits on different areas of their children’s development, such as communication and learning motivation.

From parents of hearing-impaired children:
“I chose Carmo Creche in the first place because they have implemented the sign-bilingualism scheme with the Chinese University’s Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies. I know that pairing oral language with sign language can enhance right-brain development; that is why we chose this creche. There were 5 hearing-impaired children in the class and the others were all hearing children. It showed my son that he was not the only hearing-impaired child in this world, and these children are in the same classroom with other hearing children as well. Even though he has to wear a hearing aid, he is able to play, learn and live like his other classmates. I think that this type of group setting will enable him to better adapt to our society and to become more independent.”
12
From parents of hearing children
“My child likes sign language very much. She has been exposed to it for only about a year, but she will tell us what she has learned when she comes home. She will use sign language to say ‘good morning’, tell us she wants to ‘eat an apple’, and use sign language to describe the chirping sounds made by birds on the street. All these help to strengthen the development of her thinking skills as sign language is being paired and integrated with spoken language.”
12

Kindergarten

The practice of co-teaching – where classes are prepared and taught by a hearing teacher and a deaf teaching assistant at the same time – is the main theme behind the bilingual inclusive classroom.  Three members of staff , two hearing teachers with one deaf teaching assistant, are in charge of the inclusive class at the kindergarten.

Preparation for lessons requires more time, but is crucial to ensuring that both the hearing teacher and the deaf teaching assistant are not only familiar with the teaching content, but can work together to effectively deliver the lesson content through spoken and sign languages.  Through this mode of teaching, hearing-impaired children, with the rest of the hearing students in the class, receive both spoken and sign language input allowing them to learn, interact and communicate effectively.

The Sign-Bilingualism Co-enrollment Scheme has an established system for the classroom to accommodate the needs of hearing-impaired students, through the provision of sign language input and visual learning materials.  For the entire school, the promotion of an inclusive environment to include hearing-impaired children will also require school administrators to evolve and adapt to include allowances such as special examination arrangements, sound equipment for the hearing-impaired, and encouraging teachers who may not be teaching in these inclusive classrooms to learn sign language so as to communicate with the hearing-impaired children in school.  Special resources for the hearing-impaired students enrolled in Scheme are also made available by the Chinese University of Hong Kong through a dedicated website.

In order to advocate and promote inclusiveness in the kindergarten, bilingual sign and spoken elements are also included in school activities.  At morning assembly, a hearing-impaired student from the inclusive class will lead the kindergarten in signing the song lyrics, and at extra-curricular and other school-wide activities, the school will ensure that sign interpretation is available to meet the needs of hearing-impaired students.  The deaf teaching assistants are also available to help hearing-impaired students who choose to attend after-school “homework club” with revision and homework during which sign language support is provided.

Feedback from Parents – Kindergarten

From Parents of Hearing-Impaired Children:
“Sign Bilingual Co-enrollment can make up for what my child misses or cannot hear when the teacher is speaking, as he is able to see the teaching assistant signing. Other hearing children are also able to learn sign language and learn to not discriminate from a young age. There should not be an issue of discrimination, as everyone is equal.”
12
From Parents of Hearing Children:
“Her learning motivation is much higher now. As she is learning sign language, she will teach us sign language when she gets home from school, and therefore feels very proud of herself. She will teach us how to sign ‘good morning’, the names of her classmates and other simple phrases. Apart from academic knowledge, sign langauge requires her to use her brain more and we believe it is very good for her brain development.”
12

Other Support Measures for Hearing-Impaired Students and their Parents

Language Assessments for Hearing-Impaired Students

The Project Team from the Chinese University of Hong Kong will also regularly conduct language assessments for hearing-impaired students to chart their language development, allowing teachers to understand their language level so that adjustments in teaching can be made as needed and training can be better tailored to suit their needs.

The Pilot Scheme has been well received by both the school and parents.  Since the Pilot Scheme’s implementation, the school has made it a point to introduce the concept and principles of sign bilingualism to new parents and collect information on their willingness to enroll their children in the inclusive class.  For both years, over 80% of about 150 new parents (from each cohort) had expressed their willingness to enroll their children in the inclusive class, reflecting their acceptance and support for the concept of the sign bilingualism programme.  

Professional Advisory and Consultation Services to Parents of Hearing-Impaired Children

The Project Team regularly meets with the parents of hearing-impaired children to provide counselling, and to provide consultation on appropriate measures regarding their development.  The Project Team will also regularly meet with the parents of these children to discuss their child’s progress.  To enhance parents’ understanding towards sign bilingual education, and to enable them to better understand sign bilingual teaching, the Project Team will also hold different workshops for parents on topics such as hearing and speech training, and bilingual sign storytelling.

Scheme History and Awards

Based on research evidence and the needs of deaf education, the Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong introduced, in 2006, an innovative sign bilingual education model which incorporates and strengthens the idea of inclusive education in mainstream schools.  Real inclusiveness in education is achieved by enabling deaf and hearing children to develop collaborative learning using both signed and spoken languages through co-teaching by deaf and hearing teachers.  The bilingual learning environment where deaf and hearing teachers and students integrate can also enhance their bilingual development and learning effectiveness.

As of 2019, 6 nurseries, 3 kindergarten, 3 primary schools, and 1 secondary school are using the Sign Language Co-enrollment model Asia-wide. The programme is now operating in Hong Kong (2006), Singapore (2017), Macau (2018), and the province of Quzhou (2018) in China.  A total of 160 deaf children are enrolled in the programme during 2019-2020 academic year.

In 2020, the Sign Bilingualism Co-enrollment Scheme received the Innovative Practice Award on Education awarded by the Essl Foundation’s Zero Project, which focuses on the rights of persons with disabilities globally.

(https://zeroproject.org/practice/pra201501chn-factsheet/)

zero-project-award-winner-2020-logo

Related Videos

GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme - Part 1 

In 2018, the Galaxy Entertainment Group Foundation launched the “GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme” in one kindergarten and one nursery in Macau. Under the Scheme, one teacher and a deaf teaching assistant co-teach using both spoken and sign languages in the inclusive classroom, with hearing-impaired children attending class together with other hearing children. The Scheme expects to help build a solid language foundation for hearing-impaired students through the simultaneous use of sign and spoken languages, enhancing their overall literacy and language abilities. Hearing children attending the classes are also expected to benefit from the practice, as their language development will be enhanced through exposure to sign language. In addition, the Scheme believes that this learning environment can also cultivate the students’ empathy for the less fortunate. 

GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme - Part 2 

In order to support teachers and their deaf teaching assistant to co-teach in the “GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme”, the Chinese University of Hong Kong offers sign language training to these teachers, and visits the school regularly to closely monitor the project’s progress and provide ongoing training and advice to teachers and school administrators. With the participation of the Catholic Diocese of Macau, the Education and Youth Affairs Bureau, the Social Welfare Bureau and the Labour Department in the pilot, the Scheme hopes that its positive result will eventually be fully recognised and supported by the government, enabling the Scheme to continue its implementation as these students progress through their academic careers.

Related Information

16 December 2019 | PDF

GEG Sign Bilingualism Co-enrolment Pilot Scheme Pamphlet

Share to

More Foundation Initiatives

Foundation Initiatives
Follow Us
© 2020 GEG Foundation. All right reserved.